Ph.D. in Health Policy

The Harvard Ph.D. in Health Policy, awarded by the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and started in 1992, is a collaborative program among five Harvard University faculties: Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Harvard Business School, Harvard Medical School, Harvard School of Public Health and the John F. Kennedy School of Government. The faculty chair of the program is Joseph P. Newhouse, John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard University and Deborah Whitney is the Director of the Ph.D. program. Within health policy, students choose to specialize in one of the following six concentrations or disciplines:

-Decision science
-Evaluative science and statistics
-Political analysis

While approximately one hundred faculty members from schools within the University are actively involved in the program, key Decision Science faculty include Milton C. Weinstein, director of the decision science track, Sue J. Goldie, James K. Hammitt, Jane J. Kim, Joshua A. Salomon, Stephen Resch, Tom Gaziano, Eve Wittenberg, Jennifer Yeh and G. Scott Gazelle.

Most students complete the entire program within four to five years. There are approximately 70 graduates, and nearly 70 students currently enrolled. Complete details on the Harvard Ph.D. Program can be found here. To download more information about the Decision Science track of the Ph.D. program, click here.