Weinstein Honored with Awards

Headshot of Milton Weinstein.

Dr. Milton C. Weinstein received accolades for his impact to the field of decision science from the Society for Medical Decision Making (SMDM) and the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS). SMDM named the Lee B. Lusted Award subcategory for Applied Health Economics after Dr. Weinstein for a period of five years, from 2020 to 2025. Dr. Weinstein was awarded the Frank P. Ramsey Medal by the Decision Analysis Society, a subdivision of INFORMS.

Naming for the Lee B. Lusted Student Prize subcategories acknowledges exceptional contributions to the field in the specific categories of research. Nominees are considered based on their seminal contribution to the field, ongoing contributions/involvement with SMDM, and their role in teaching and mentoring.

The Frank P. Ramsey medal is awarded for distinguished contributions in decision analysis, either internal, such as theoretical or procedural advances in decision analysis, or external, such as developing or spreading decision analysis in new fields. Recipients are evaluated based from their theoretical, methodological, and procedural contributions to decision analysis; applications of decision analysis (including new uses and in new fields); other contributions promoting decision analysis (e.g. educational and public awareness); and exceptional contributions to the Decision Analysis Society (e.g. service to society or journal). Previous recipients of the medal include Howard Raiffa and Daniel Kahneman and Amos Tversky. Dr. Weinstein is the first recipient whose primary research is in health applications of decision analysis.

Read Dr. Weinstein’s full bio.
Read more about the Lee B. Lusted Student Prizes
Read more about the Frank P. Ramsey Medal

Related news: Symposium Honoring Dr. Milton C. Weinstein

Sincere congratulations to Milt from all of us at CHDS!